Governing Board

The Transportation District Commission of Hampton Roads, HRT’s governing body, consists of 13 members, one elected official and one citizen representative from each city served by Hampton Roads Transit, the chairman of the Commonwealth Transportation Board (CTB), or a designee.

TDCHR Representatives
Portsmouth The Honorable Kenneth I. Wright (Chair) Commissioner Charles B. Hunter
Hampton The Honorable Will J. Moffett (Vice-Chair) Commissioner Robert R. Harper Jr.
Chesapeake The Honorable Richard W. “Rick” West (Past-Chair) Commissioner Douglas W. Fuller
Newport News The Honorable Patricia P. Woodbury Commissioner Allen C. Tanner Jr.
Norfolk The Honorable Barclay C. Winn Commissioner James P. Toscano
Virginia Beach The Honorable James L. Wood Commissioner
Linwood Branch
Commonwealth Transportation Board - Virginia Department of Rail and Public Transportation (VDRPT) Jennifer MitchellAmy Inman, alternate

Commission meetings are held every month at alternating locations.

HRT – Hampton District HRT – Norfolk District
3400 Victoria Boulevard 509 E. 18 Street – Bldg 4
January 23, 2014 +February 27, 2014
+March 27, 2014 April 24, 2014
May 22, 2014 +June 26, 2014
+July 24, 2014 August 28, 2014
+September 25, 2014 October 23, 2014
*November 13, 2014  +*December 11, 2014
(*) Indicates that the meeting dates changed to second Thursday per amended bylaws.
(+) Indicates public meetings for public comments per bylaws.
(Subject to change)

For communication services, please contact Luis Ramos at 222-6159.

Commission Documents

General Documents

HRT lists on these pages the documents from the two most recent commission meetings. For older content, please visit the commission’s public records page here.

August 2014 Documents

July 2014 Documents

TDCHR Standing Committees

Audit/Budget Review Committee
The Audit/Budget Review Committee reviews financial statements and performance reports concerning actual expenses and revenues relative to the annual budget on a quarterly basis. It refers those reports to the full Commission. 

Planning and New Starts Development Committee
The Planning and New Starts Development Committee develops policy and direction for HRT’s major initiatives.

Operations and Oversight Committee
The Operations & Oversight Committee oversees the agency’s financial performance. The committee meets the second Thursday of each month, with the exceptions of November and December when it meets the first Thursday of the month. 

Executive Committee
The Commission  has an Executive Committee that is comprised of all the chairs of the standing committees although any commission member is free to attend. The committee works with the President and CEO to coordinate Commission operations and all functional committees. There is no currently scheduled meeting.

Advisory Committees